Saturday, March 28, 2009

Caldecott Books in March

Here are the Caldecott Medal Winner books I read in March with the Ant Bug. The books we enjoyed and will likely read again are marked large.

1946: The Rooster Crows by Maud & Miska Petersham
1953: The Biggest Bear by Lynd Ward
1954: Madeline's Rescue by Ludwig Bemelmans
1956: Frog Went A-Courtin', illustrated by Feodor Rojankovsky; text: retold by John Langstaff
1966: Always Room for One More, illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian; text: Sorche Nic Leodhas, pseud. [Leclair Alger]
1969: The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship, illustrated by Uri Shulevitz; text: retold by Arthur Ransome (The Ant Bug wasn't interested in this one, but this is worth trying again in a few years)
1970: Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig
1972: One Fine Day, retold and illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian
1980: Ox-Cart Man, illustrated by Barbara Cooney; text: Donald Hall
1996: Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann